Domain Name Scam Email
Tuesday
Dec 15, 2009
Today, I received an email that looked like this. The actual domain was changed.
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward to the right person/ department, as this is urgent, thank you.)
Dear CEO,
We are the department of registration service in China. We formally received an application on December 7, 2009, one company which self-styled Bopcl Corporation is applying for registering internet brand “domain”, and Domain names as below:domain.asia
domain.cc
domain.cn
domain.com.cn
domain.com.hk
domain.com.tw
domain.hk
domain.net.cn
domain.org.cn
domain.tw
After our initial examination, we found out that Bopcl Corporation has no trade mark, brand nor patent even similar to that word. As authorized anti-cybersquatting organization we hereby suspect Bopcl Corporation to be a domain grabber. So we hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company and this Bopcl Corporationas are the same company, there is no need reply to us, We will accept their application and will register those for them immediately.
If your company has no relationships with that company nor does not authorize them, please reply to us within 5 workdays, if we can’t get any information from yours over 5 workdays, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by Bopcl Corporation. Thanks for your cooperation.
Best regards,
halen
Senior Consultant
Tel:+86 2164609758
Fax:+86 2164609768
Website: http://www.nzcop.org.cn
Looks innocent enough, right? Well, having received many of these types of emails in the past, I can pretty much confirm this is a scam. These emails are an attempt to instill fear of losing your brand name in other TLD extensions. And by instilling fear, they’re hoping to convince you to register those domain names via their website.
Comment Form